how do you write like you’re running out of time?

As you may have gathered from the title of this post, I’m somewhat obsessed with Hamilton right now. And I want to write like I’m running out of time. Trouble is, 1) I’m low on inspiration right now, and 2) I don’t have a lot of time. You’d think #2 means I’d write a lot–because I’m running out–but somehow it means I write less. The inspiration’s hard to come by, sure, but the minimal amount of time available to me is in the way too.

Once things settle down next month, in a new house with a devoted office for my writing use, I imagine some aspects of writing will become easier. I hope to set a schedule such that I write a little every day–ideally on my WIP, but if I write anything, that’s a win–but that’s next month.

In the meantime I’ll be traveling internationally for work, and I’m not sure where I’ll find the time to write. My schedule will fluctuate every day, and I won’t necessarily be in the same place.

Any tried and true tips for making time to write with a busy schedule? Send them my way!

3 thoughts on “how do you write like you’re running out of time?

  1. I am busier than a one-armed paper hanger as my father was wont to say. I have worked out that I am a binge writer and that’s just the way it is going to be. I have a more than full-time job that I love and which is very meaningful (counsellor on a First-Nations Reserve). I have written my whole life and won’t stop but I also meditate (an hour or more a day) draw (half hour a day at least) and then things like loving to cook and bake, cleaning the house, playing with pals, and on and on. What helps me are challenges like NaNoWriMo and the like. It gets me writing and I am now in query process (and yes I have a mentor and he is checking and re-checking it) but I really try not to feel bad about the time thing. I guess, at 64 yrs. old I am finally developing patience with my own rhythms. ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Write on the go! I have an app on my phone called Jotterpad and a Bluetooth keyboard that I carry around with me. That way, if I’m ever sitting for a while, I can bust out some words. Since you’re traveling internationally, maybe you can do some writing while on the plane? (And that sounds like fun for work!)

    Best of luck finding inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would set aside 15 minutes to write every day, no matter what. And if you have more time and feel inspired to continue after 15, great, if not, don’t sweat it. But you’d be surprised how that can add up over time, and get the creative wheels oiled. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

