the dark side

the bills never end
the pills merely delay the inevitable

twice a day, torture and drama
forcing medication down an unwilling cat’s throat

then he avoids me, fears me
I didn’t sign up for this

chemotherapy requires gloves
and it has to be kept cold
I see cancer medication whenever I open my fridge

we’ve put him through so much already
the scar on his belly just one reminder of many

some mornings I wake up and wonder
“is this the day I have to face the final goodbye?”

Leave a Reply

