that Pitch Wars thing

Six days later, I’ve regained some of my coherence.

The event that turned my world upside down in the best possible way occurred last Tuesday, when the mentor choices for Pitch Wars were announced one day early. My name was on the list. I got to hear my name and my novel’s title read aloud on Whiskey, Wine, and Writing.

I was one of 125 chosen mentees out of a possible 1,591. I squealed, I cried, I blubbered in shock and awe.

My mentor, Julie Sondra Decker, is amazing. She has TWO agents, one for fiction and one for non-fiction. Her writing is gorgeous (check out her short story, “Her Mother’s Child“) AND she has a web comic!

Also, I love the fact that she enjoyed my reaction to being picked.

I’m overwhelmed and honored to be mentored by her and to be a part of the 2015 class of Pitch Wars mentees. I’m loving this community and this camaraderie, and I’m finally gaining some much needed confidence as a writer. (Though some of it will slip through my fingertips at a second’s notice; one step forward, two steps back and all that.) I know there’s a lot of work ahead, many darlings to kill and many bad habits to break, but I’m so glad I’m going through it with this group of people. Even if it does feel a little like the first week of college, as another mentee perfectly described it. I don’t know everyone yet, but I’m rooting for each of us to get some agent love less than two months from now!

Whether or not you’re in Pitch Wars this year, join us on our revising journey! That link takes you to a number of mentees who will chronicle life on this crazy, wild ride.

(I apologize for the lack of GIFs in this post. I’m still not much of a GIF user despite participating in Pitch Wars!)

Leave a Reply

